Skip to content

Roller Coaster Ride!

July 23, 2009

Hey there, Hong Kong readers!

I hope that you’ve got your seat belts on, because this one’s going to be a bumpy ride.

Things have definitely been a roller coaster over here in the United States. It’s been absolutely crazy! After the Digit Murphy Ice Hockey Camp, I thought I had gotten over my shock for the summer, but it seems the winds of change have better plans for me!

My eyes nearly popped out of my eyes the first time I stepped out onto the ice on Monday morning, at exactly 9:15 AM to attend my first day at the North American Hockey Academy in Stowe, Vermont. Out on the ice, there were thirty three goalies skating around. And all of them were girls. THIRTY THREE FEMALE GOALIES. Can you believe it? And you think I’m a minority in Hong Kong. HUH!

At camp, we all received a nickname. On our first day, during ‘group activity’ time in the evening, we played a game called Two Truths and One Lie. The game is to simply to tell the group two truths and one lie about yourself, and the rest of the group must guess the lie, and then base a nickname on that information. Names, well there was Lillo (the girl who had lots of ‘stitches’ throughout her life), “Big Red” or “Clifford” (she lied, her favorite color was red), “Cheese” (because her name was Brie, like the cheese, right?), Lucky (when we were playing cards she always, without fail, got the lucky winning card), “Godzilla” (she was REALLY tall), “Humpty Dumpty” (she mentioned that she was clumsy and always fell down stairs) and many, many others. One of the girls, my roommate, lied she was attacked by a cougar as a child, so we nicknamed her “Siegfried,” you know, the lion trainer in Las Vegas who was attacked on stage by a white Bengal tiger! Google him, I’m sure there’s something on him. My nickname came later, after that day’s game, and after I had finished blow drying my hair (yes I know, I’m vain!). One of the girls commented that my hair had ‘flow,’ and someone deemed me just that, “Flow.”

Our counselors and coaches were great fun to be around, and they made the week go quicker (whether that was a good thing or not differed from one camper to the next). Although there were two groups, and I did not really get a chance to get to know the other counselors very well, I did spend some time talking to them and they seemed like amazing people. Godzilla was our counselor, and so was White Russian (named after the fact that she had extremely pale skin and could speak Russian, barely). The majority of the coaches on the ice with us were French Canadian, and we all had a good laugh making fun of their accents. My group’s main coach was Russian, and his name was Ilia. He was a 6 foot 2 inch tall bean pole, but when he was doing dry land training with us you could see that his legs were built with muscle on muscle. His nickname was Scooby, as his favorite dry land exercise had the goalies on all fours and lifting and stretching our legs as though we were dogs in need of a bathroom break. Unfortunately, he had to leave us half way through the week to spend time with his girlfriend before he returned to Russia to play on his professional team, and we all missed seeing his (beautiful) face. Oh well, maybe I’ll see him again sometime in my travels in the goalie world.

As I mentioned in my SCMP Young Post column this week, the NAHA camp has been by far the most strenuous camp I have ever had the pleasure to attend. The amount of physical and mental strength necessary to last through the entire week is immense, and the majority of us didn’t make it through without a break. “Death Tuesdays” is just as terrible as it sounds. I wish not to speak of it, my friends.

The best part of the week was when we all danced “Soulja Boy” on the ice. Seriously, it’s the funniest thing you’ll ever see. I promise I will try to upload the video on to my Youtube account. It’s absolutely hilarious!

This has turned into a much too long blog. Until next time, my friends!

From your faithful goalie,

“Flow”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

