Skip to content

Slow down, minibus drivers

December 17, 2009

By Vivian So Wai-wan, SKH Lam Kau Mow Secondary School

As the number of total traffic accidents involving speeding minibuses increases rapidly, minibus safety has become a controversial topic. In August, the Transport Department announced that all minibuses must be fitted with speed limiters by 2011.

I support this move because most minibus drivers do not seem to care about safety. On most sections of highways, the speed is limited to 80 km/h. But many minibus drivers drive faster than that despite continuous beeps from the speed display unit. This is annoying and frightening, but as a passenger, all I can do is hold the armrest tight and stay alert. That’s why I prefer taking buses or trains to minibuses.

Still, we need more than speed limiters. I am sure most drivers don’t want to be murderers. They drive fast so they can do more rounds. We need to increase their awareness of road safety to help them become more patient and responsible drivers. Passengers’ safety should come first. If minibus drivers could understand this, we could save a lot of public money used to install speed limiters.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 5:52 pm

    By Wong Pui Lam, Christian Alliance S.C. Chan Memorial Collage

    A bus Accient occured in Tseung Kwan O

    After reading this news, l feel very sorry for the injured in this accident. I truely hope that they and their relatives can restrain their grief and accept the truth.

    In the article, I could see a little boy who suffered severe gashes to his face and back of his head sat on a wheelchair. He is the youngest injured in the accident. Though he suffered a lot of pain, he still said “I am OK!”. If the people who think that I’ve already suffered plenty of pain compared with the little boy, you may think my pain is just a piece of cake. Then why don’t you just say “I am OK!”?

    Like me, I failed in my physics test, I sobbed and thought how poor I am. But after I read this news, I changed my mind and thought how silly I was before. Failing isn’t the end of the world, I could catch up. Unlike me, the little boy had to do a lot of operations, the pain he suffered may be a hundred times harder than mine. That’s why I said “I am OK!”.

    No one wants this accident to occur, we should be optimistic that all problems will over. In addition, we shouldn’t only focus on the fault of the driver or how much KMB would pay for indemnification, but also concern the injured and give them a hand when they need so.

  2. nono permalink
    December 22, 2009 12:32 pm

    I am regretful for hearing the compulsory installing speed limiter. But In the face of ever-increasing traffic accidents causing casualties. We are in great peril that we cannot evade. When it comes to installing speed limiters.,
    I have an opinion that government should boldly shoulder the responsibility to assist minibus driver to purchase a free-charge speed limiter. Since 1950 Hong Kong has licensed two type of minibus carrying local resident, to my great surprise, there has only been a minor quantity of accident,in turn,mini bus goes reliable and received by local residents.
    For the above-mentioned, we ought to deeply introspect why min-bus little by little becomes a homicidal trip. Is this the obligation to government?
    Anyhow, i mean to suggest a couple of solutions. First of all, government can tighten the traffic ordinance ,more penalty points are added to offences like speeding and disregarding traffic lights.secondly,i prefer fining to just issuing summons ,more effectively, transport department should put the well-camouflaged radar traps to catch speedy drivers. I don’t have blind faith in any myth, but believe a motto: the more stringent the law, the better driving habits of motorists.

Leave a Reply

