Skip to content

Another face of Valentine’s Day

February 9, 2010

By Cho Sin Ting, The Chinese Foundation Secondary School

Chocolate, rose, teddy bear and a candle dinner, these are the most popular things that people will do in the Valentine Day. Every 14 February, the street will full of flowers and the flower shop will have the heaviest workload. The boys will buy a bob of rose, usually 99 red roses, and wait under the office or the home of the girls until the girls come. Expectably, the girls will feel sweet and show their smiley face. But, how about your family?

Valentine Day is not only the day for the lovers of couples, but also for your family! Most of the people want to tell their feeling and show their love to the other one and therefore, they choose to take action in the Valentine Day. We can also do the same things in the Valentine Day to our family because we also love our family! Even a small gift, it can really express and send the message of “Love and Care” to our family. Although a DIY gift, even a card by hand writing will be better than just buy a gift from the store, it is already show your appreciation.

The Valentine Day is coming, don’t hesitate to show your “Love and Care” to you family and lovers, or even everyone around you! Try to make a surprise to the one you care and enjoy your Valentine Day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 4:46 pm

    By Sherry Cheung, Fung Kai Liu Man Shek Tong Secondary School

    I agree with Sin Ting because some of the Hong Kong people always ignore their family on the Valentine’s Day. They only take care of their lover. In fact, Valentine’s Day is time to express your love. Not only for their lover! You also love your family, right? So this is a time for you to express your love. You can give them some free “presents”, such as a kiss, say thank you to them.

    Honestly, I don’t like the Valentine’s Day. In my opinion, the Valentine’s Day gives them a chance to waste their money. They always buy some very expensive presents, such as 99 red roses and diamond rings. I believe that money is not equal to their love. So remember do not give a excuse to yourself.

    Next, I think that not only on the Valentine’s Day, you can show your love to your family. You can do it every day, such as helping your mother to do housework. Do you think this way is the best and the simplest?

  2. March 2, 2010 4:43 pm

    By Ren’ee Kan, Fung Kai Liu Man Shek Tong Secondary School

    I agree with Cho’s opinions. Every Valentine’s Day I never go out for a whole day because it is my mum’s birthday.

    When I was small, I wrote a little card by myself for mum on her each birthday. After receiving the card, she smiles sweetly ever. Now, I feel a little bit shy to write touching words like that, but I still make DIY gift for her. Such as a warm scarf, sweet little cup cakes, even do housework for a whole day for her. It’s enough to deep touch her heart.

    I tried to celerbrate each festival with them as much as I can do, whether I am busy with my work. It’s because when we grow up, we have our job, our own partner, and we will have less time to get long with our family. So now, we should treasure any time we spend with them.

  3. March 2, 2010 4:42 pm

    By William Chan, Fung Kai Liu Man Shek Tong Secondary School

    I agree that Valentine Day is not only the day for the lovers of couples. Why people do more especially at Valentine Day? I think Valentine Day also is one of a year and the same as other days. If someone buys roses, chocolate at Valentine Day only, I think he must not be a caring boyfriend or girlfriend. There is one thing that I believe — every day is Valentine’s Day! We should show our love to our lover every single day.

    On the other hand, I think Valentine Day is a day that to give a chance for businessman to earn money. Although flowers are extremely expensive on that day, people have to buy rose to their lovers. So I will not buy any flowers on that day, they cannot get any money from my hand!

    So, I think if you want to save money and show your all love, let every day be Valentine Day!

Leave a Reply

