Skip to content

Brain Game. 04.03.2010

March 4, 2010

the brain game

 

This week’s question:

“What kind of event would you plan to bring two hostile countries together?”

The participants answers are published every Thursdays in Young Post.

Votes close on Monday at noon.

Cool Text: Logo and Graphics Generator

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosa permalink
    March 6, 2010 4:27 pm

    We must show our respect to the participants. We should not pick up one’s answer and treat him unfairly. I think that music is one of the ways to build up good relationship with countries. Somebody throw banana to the singers is a special case. I think that no singers are willing to have their concerts with their fans will throw banana to them. I show my fully support to Alex, Walter and Amy.

  2. Aras permalink
    March 5, 2010 7:45 pm

    I think you are right with a few points but you should think about my question. Will the two countries become friends after helding a concert? If yes, please state the reason. But I think that if negotiation can’t solve the problem, why music can? We can stop a war by playing beautiful music on the opposing country. I don’t think so. Moreover, I did not criticize Alex Ko’s idea. I was using him as an example. In my opinion, music is not a good idea and that’s all.

  3. Wing Wing permalink
    March 5, 2010 12:18 pm

    This mind game should be a space for discussion openly, freely and fairly! We all should show our respect, support to participants (but criticism with bad intention would not be welcomed). In this week, 3 out of 5 speakers show a similiar point of view that music is an universe cure to human race, via music, lyric & melody to spread a sense of peace. I myself admire this idea and would show fully support to Alex, Walter & Amy!

  4. Henna permalink
    March 4, 2010 8:12 pm

    U have my full support Annie!!!!!!!!

  5. Aras permalink
    March 4, 2010 4:43 pm

    I think Alex’s answer was boring. He said that gettung them to agree on a common goal would be a good idea but then he stated the bad things of the idea. And then, he stated another idea. Also, I don’t think that helding a concert would be a great idea. People would throw bananas at the singers before the show. Even they liked their music, I don’t think the government would like the another country just because they sent singers to it country.

    • March 4, 2010 11:43 pm

      Sorry, I beg to differ. I don’t think his answer is brilliant but I think you’d better read his answer carefully. If you don’t treat any of the competitors’ answers carefully, you’ll probably make a wrong choice.
      Firstly, I can’t see he is trying to say agreeing on a common goal is a good idea. He only says “one of the way”. Natural disaster is a kind of bad thing, I agree. But it can undoubtedly bring two countries together because there are no choices for them: Die or stay alive. Actually, if you think carefully, concert is still form of collaboration. He is only changing the subject to music. Also music won’t bring cost that natural disasters do. This draws the conclusion: we all agree that collaboration is one and the only way to solve the problem and music is an agreeable option.
      Secondly, I think you are treating the competitors unfairly. Three of them are choosing music. So you cannot just criticize one of them. If you do really think his is boring, you are actually disagreeing with Amy Lau and Walter Mak, aren’t you? But you just pick out Alex Ko and tell all the disadvantages of his answer that three of them share at the same time. You are treating him like a scapegoat. I really can’t understand why you do that.
      Thirdly, you say that people would throw bananas at the singers before the show so you don’t agree that music is a good idea. People are just somebody you cannot control. If you says so, I think we can’t agree with any of the answers, can we? Everything can run into ruin at the end, even if you are meeting the representatives or dining with the citizens. Which one works, who knows? You don’t know and I don’t know either. So we should give a chance to different opinions. Also if you are focusing too much on the practicability, then none can stand. The same question, you can’t ensure which is workable. If you are really demanding an absolute answer, you are just too idealistic. There won’t be many conflicts in this annoying world then! If you can’t agree with this, I think you are actually “picking bones from an egg” just like what the Chinese proverb tells us.
      Fourthly, back to Alex Ko’s answer, he doesn’t mention anything about the government. I agree that the key is the people. It’s the people who control the government. Not the government which suppresses the people. Some of the people would show their admiration to their enemies. This is what you just can’t deny.
      Please do read more carefully next time. And if you are trying to treat some of the competitors unfairly, I, to a great extend, believe that you are engaging in tactical voting.

Leave a Reply

