Skip to content

Qinghai earthquake: show you care

April 29, 2010

Last week, Young Post ran a story about the tragedy at the Minorities Vocational School in Yushu, Qinghai province – at least 40 students died in the earthquake. (Read it online. Log on to yp.scmp.com and go to ‘News’ > ‘National’ or click here).

To support the students who lost their classmates, Young Post is calling all its readers to create and sign a card of support.

We need a drawing for the front of the card. You don’t have to be a great artist – the design we choose will be the one that really shows you care. Post your drawing to ‘Show You Care’, Young Post, Morning Post Centre, 22 Dai Fat Street, Tai Po Industrial Estate, New Territories; or scan it and e-mail it to yp@scmp.com.

The drawing can be digital, but it must be your work (not an image found online). Your work must reach us by Thursday, May 6.

Or take part by putting YOUR NAME in the card. Add a comment to this post with your name and age and we will add it to the list.

Photo: Felix Wong

26 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 9:23 am

    Hiya, my name is Gigi Lowe, 12, call me Kian Cain, and I am the author of the Four Scrolls series. I might be young but don’t think I am oblivious to what happens out there in the big, bad world. I’ve watched loads of stories about earthquakes and such on TV but have never done anything about it. Using this opportunity I have been given to publish my book, I would like to help Qinghai’s residents rebuild their old community. I cannot do that without your helping hand. The money collected from selling my books will be donated to the people who have suffered due to the earthquake in Qinghai.

    Please contact me by email gigi.lowe@dc.edu.hk
    My Book Launch Date : 14 May 2010 (Friday) , the Theatre, Discovery College, Discovery Bay.

  2. Natalie Fung from Hong Kong, 12 permalink
    May 8, 2010 10:43 am

    Hope they can encounter all the obstacles and soon gain a fruitful and prosperous life!

  3. Evelyne Kiu permalink
    May 7, 2010 5:20 pm

    Evelyne Kiu, 15 from Hong Kong.
    The earthquake was a tragedy. I’m really sorry for the losses.
    Stay strong, have faith and never give up.

  4. Scarlett permalink
    May 6, 2010 10:33 am

    Scarlett Ho, 16 ♥

  5. Dorothy permalink
    May 5, 2010 7:59 pm

    I’m really sorry when I heard the Qinghai earthquake. May all of you continue to persevere despite all that had happened. Sun will shine, my friend. There’ll always be a silver lining back of every cloud you see, so cheer up. The best is yet to come.
    Dorothy Yim, 14

  6. Michelle Tao permalink
    May 5, 2010 6:29 pm

    I’m sorry that there is an earthquake! 😦
    I hope that all will recover soon! 😀

  7. Sana Paul permalink
    May 4, 2010 8:35 pm

    I really love you people… I really wish you could find a new home and live happily again. Hardship are always a natural part of the life but a good thing always happen in the end.

  8. Eric permalink
    May 4, 2010 12:55 pm

    Eric Lam, 21. Hope they will turn over a new leaf after this tragic event.

  9. Joey permalink
    May 3, 2010 7:38 pm

    Joey Wong from Hong Kong, 11. I hope that everyone of you will have faith and happiness throughout your lives.

  10. HUNG Wing Sum permalink
    May 2, 2010 10:00 pm

    Sammi Hung from HK, 15. I hope that all of you will soon recover from it.

Leave a Reply

