Skip to content

Writing does magic

May 14, 2010

I didn’t know I have a passion for writing until recently. Maybe it’s because I have been reading a lot more than usual, both books published by amazing writers and stories written by enthusiasts from different places all over the world on FictionPress.com. Maybe it’s because I was in an emotional state when I was studying hard for my A-Levels, and other ways of unleashing my thoughts like Music – composing beautiful notes and melodies through a guitar or a piano, and Art – painting, coloring and designing out of nothing but imagination, were both nonexistent to me. Naturally, I settled with scribbling down concrete alphabets and words that are sensible and understandable by others and not just handwritings that are illegible to everyone but myself.

 I am in no position of advising people on how to write, but I can always quote. Charlaine Harris, author of the New York Times Bestselling series the Southern Vampire Mysteries, advised: “For any writers at all, read everything you can and then put your butt in the chair and write. That’s all there is to it.” So I guess I am on the right track.

 Writing makes me think: which adjectives to use, what kinds of simile I’m going for, what I want the readers to get and deduce from the pieces. It is not only a cure to my overly tense and stressed out mind, but a way to let others to get to know the other side of me – the side that only reveal itself in the paragraphs. If I am a stranger to composing Music and deadly enemy of creating Art, then Writing and I are a couple that has just freshly met but are immediately and helplessly drawn to each other. I certainly welcome such a sudden but sweet and lovable encounter that builds rainbows in my life. I am more than willing to devote my time into the relationship, for it to grow stronger and ultimately ripen.

 As a person who is deeply in love, the only thing I can say is don’t be afraid to fall into the seemingly distant and unfamiliar embrace of Writing, because you may end up lingering in it much longer than you thought possible and eventually become addictive to its intoxicating scent and the unbelievable magic it works on you.

Samantha Chan, 19, is a fresh graduate from Marymount Secondary School. When she’s not reading or writing, Samantha is watching movies. She dreams to work for the film industry one day. Her column Bite of Life is inspired by the tiniest bits of joy, laughter, frustration and anger in her life. Samantha hopes her articles will take readers to a calm, peaceful place.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. samanthac permalink
    May 20, 2010 8:31 am

    Good for you! I think I didn’t even like English when I was in year seven…With these so called leisure writings, your essays seem to come out automatically fluent don’t you think? Ever think of writing a story or a book?

  2. Zoe permalink
    May 14, 2010 4:05 pm

    Very nicely written =) And I agree completely, writing does wonders. It also helps with essay writing. Almost two years ago, when I started year seven, my English was at an acceptable level, and I was averaging Bs and Cs. After discovering writing, I’ve been getting As the whole time. And even my history teacher thinks my essays are well-written.

Leave a Reply

