Skip to content

Electronics in our blood

May 28, 2010

I can’t live without technology. I simply can’t. Can you? Probably not because you’re staring at the computer screen right now, and who knows how much longer you are going to sit there with the same pose and the same angle of the neck today. Hands up if the first thing you do when you wake up on a holiday, is not washing your face nor brushing your teeth (and obviously not saying good morning to your mom), but turning on the computer. Guilty here. And mind you, there are a lot of addicts out there like us. It’s not just the internet we’re talking about, the iPods, the cell phones, the cameras and in my case, the Reader – almost everything is electrified. A friend once asked me, “Which one would you mourn more, your cell or your Reader being stolen?” I said I’d rather my purse gone than losing either of them.

I discussed this with a friend one day, and we both agreed that the electronic technology is only going to expand further and is undoubtedly a trend. With extremely short life cycles, companies keep on doing research and develop all kinds of new and up-to-date electronics, typical example being iPhone, first 3G, then 3GS and now 4G. Consumers who rely on the trade-in services provided by cell phone companies or the shops in different computer shopping centers only speeded up the life cycle of the products by creating market demand for them. Not just cell phones, but also books, mostly fictions, of all kinds of languages. Simply a click at home and you have your book bought and downloaded to your e-reader – cheaper and more environmentally friendly. It’s definitely beneficial in the long run.

Looking at my little cousin, who is now in primary three, with a schoolbag almost heavier than him, I couldn’t help but giving my support to the cancelation of printed textbooks. I’d rather see the kids go to school with a laptop computer in their bags than see them carry real books that crook their backs. Don’t get me wrong, I do like scribbling on real paper. In fact, I do it every day, even though I have a blog, a column now, and I draft the articles with Word. Truth be told, even with the Reader, visiting bookstores is still one of my favorite past times and some books are just better read with real pages to flip in your hands. But my stance still stands, and I’ll try my best to not lose any of my electronic babies.

Samantha Chan, 19, is a fresh graduate from Marymount Secondary School. When she’s not reading or writing, Samantha is watching movies. She dreams to work for the film industry one day. Her column Bite of Life is inspired by the tiniest bits of joy, laughter, frustration and anger in her life. Samantha hopes her articles will take readers to a calm, peaceful place.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

