Skip to content

Who is your light?

July 9, 2010

I was wandering in the supermarket when I saw a magazine (July issue of Allure) with my muse, Diane Kruger, as cover girl. I bought it without a second thought even though it costs $56 and is barely half a centimeter thick. In the interview when she was asked about her role in the movie, Troy, she said, “Where do you go from playing Helen of Troy? My job was to stand there and be beautiful. It could have easily ruined my career.”

But Diane took the risk anyway. In fact, she took many risks in her life. She originally wanted to be a dancer, but eventually became a model because of knee injury. Marrying to a French director opened up her career path of being an actress, and that was what she did since then. Diane was once deemed “too beautiful to play a role of any substance” by movie critics, but she strived for it and now she is one of the A-list actresses in Hollywood.

I’m not trying to turn this column into a muse-worshipping one. (No?) What I’m trying to say is, what Diane said in the interview boosted my confidence concerning my Jupas choice of university subjects. Because I took risks too – and she just showed me that it’s okay, that success does come with some of the risks and people don’t necessarily fail by doing so. With the rest reassured, I can then put it down and care more about my holiday and work.

It’s amazing how a total stranger can affect you like this, when nothing your very own parents and friends say can give you the assurance you need. Okay maybe not a total stranger since I know everything about her, but you get what I mean. Beyond graduation and entering university, I will probably become some sort of guiding light to the younger ones, just like those I relied on (and bothered so much) last week. And maybe, just maybe, that I might have the honor of becoming someone else’s muse (or stranger), who would have the ability to give them what they need from my experiences and untie the knots they have in their minds.

P.S. With all that’s been going on, I’m glad there is still one thing that completely got my attention, at least for a few hours. VAMOS ESPAÑA! (I hereby give an applause to Paul the Octopus.)

Samantha Chan, 19, is a fresh graduate from Marymount Secondary School. When she’s not reading or writing, Samantha is watching movies. She dreams to work for the film industry one day. Her column Bite of Life is inspired by the tiniest bits of joy, laughter, frustration and anger in her life. Samantha hopes her articles will take readers to a calm, peaceful place.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

