Skip to content

Entertainment or addiction? You decide

July 20, 2010

By YP intern Bimal Mirwani

More and more kids are getting addicted to computer games. They think that playing computer games makes them cool. They think it’s the ‘in thing’ to do. Do they stop to think about the consequences computer games are having on them? Probably not. They don’t care. As long as they are doing what is deemed as cool, they won’t hesitate to put their health and studies in peril.

I used to be addicted to computer games. I got a real thrill out of playing all these cool, new computer games. I realised it had a very negative effect on me. My grades were slipping and I was neglecting playing sports. This last point is very unlike me.

Even though I realised all these negative effects, I still continued to play because it was just too much fun and I didn’t want the fun to stop.

Then came the time when my friends and I got together at a cyber café to play computer games. Sometimes we would game for up to three hours straights. I always felt hungry and thirsty during the game and the easiest way to satisfy my needs was to buy highly calorific sodas, energy drinks and chocolate bars.

I kept going to the cyber café, although I really felt I should have stopped and so did my parents. But my addiction was too great. My parents tried to warn me. They said this habit was harming me, but I didn’t care because I wanted to keep myself entertained by playing.

It was only until my mock exams that I had to put the games away and focus on the task at hand. During this exam period, I realised that I couldn’t concentrate without thinking about computer games. But I neglected the games for once and I saw a huge difference in my results. This really kicked some sense into me. I realised that I didn’t have to give up playing computer games totally. Instead I could play a little bit every day, after I had finished studying.

Now I have mostly given up playing computer games because I think it is a waste of time for teenagers. Instead I have been doing a lot of sports and reading, which has boosted up my physical and mental strength. I now only wish I had stopped playing computer games earlier.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 5:08 am

    i like computer games that are first person shooting and strategy games .

  2. Molin permalink
    August 1, 2010 12:11 pm

    I think teenagers get addicted to computer games a lot these days. And I think it does more harm than good to them to sit in front of the computers all day long to play games. THey neglect their studies and the relations between their parents and themselves worsen.

Leave a Reply

