Skip to content

Love – Lost & Found

July 26, 2010

I always think that History and I are lovers. I like him. I really do. But when it comes to knowing deeper and finding more about his secrets, I tend to get annoyed and even a little irritated. For instance, when I have to memorize his birthday and our anniversaries at the very beginning, I enjoyed it and everything was cool. And then after some time, he had me remember all those special days related to every single family member and friend of his, that was when things started to get ugly. It even got to a point – which was exactly when I was in the midst of preparing for my A-Levels – that I swore to myself I would never touch this mess again. How clear-minded and reasonable.

But then, isn’t love supposed to be irrational?

It’s cliché, believe me, I know. After some time, when I started walking down memory lane, I find out that I actually miss his good sides that caught my eye at the very beginning, and those happy moments came flushing back. The rage and fury faded away, and the frown on my face was slowly replaced by a grin. Everything was forgiven and I’m still in love. Silly, eh? But that was exactly what happened.

Let me un-personify it for you.

European history was my specialties, which was the so-called ‘good sides that caught my eye’, but the syllabus in the Hong Kong History subject required me to study Asian History as well. When the final preparation for the exam began and I had to go over everything again (even in the simplified version), I nearly fainted, literally.

After that I started my long vacation, and enjoyed a journey to Europe. When I strolled down the narrow alley of Montpellier, it was really like memory lane. I looked up to the sky, like the ancient Chinese story of the frog at the bottom of a well, I could nearly imagine I was one of those villagers, living life as it was, during the French Revolution or the Great Depression, making bread and hanging out clothes to dry. These were what I wanted to explore in History and why I’ve chosen this subject in the first place. I’m betting there will be more quarrels and fights coming up, but lovers do eventually make up for it, right?

And FYI: I might just major in European Studies if I luckily get into my first choice. Passionate love birds, we are.

 

Samantha Chan, 19, is a fresh graduate from Marymount Secondary School. When she’s not reading or writing, Samantha is watching movies. She dreams to work for the film industry one day. Her column Bite of Life is inspired by the tiniest bits of joy, laughter, frustration and anger in her life. Samantha hopes her articles will take readers to a calm, peaceful place.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenna permalink
    August 13, 2010 6:27 pm

    I read only a couple of your work, and already I feel that you have a true gift in writing.
    I really hope you will always continue your career as a columnist as it’s become an inspiration for some of us.

    😀

    • samanthac permalink
      August 21, 2010 11:15 pm

      Wow. Thank you! I’m really flattered 🙂
      It’s good to know someone is reading my articles and actually like them. It means a lot to me and I’m glad I inspired you 😀

Leave a Reply

