Skip to content

We reflect, then improve

August 27, 2010

“What is your goal right now?” That was the very first question we freshmen were asked when we were doing some serious reflection in one of the many orientation camps. “What are your priorities?” “What exactly do you think about this Ulife ahead of you?” I was not surprised that I didn’t have concrete answers to those questions. Summer still hasn’t ended yet and we’ve been through a lot to come to this stage of our lives, to us, it’s still fun time.

When I finally have the time to put pen to paper, I did come up with some ‘answers’, but they’re still vague. ‘Three years of university life is too short, because when you finally get used to the whole thing, a year had already passed.’ I haven’t really gotten a good glimpse of what this mysterious place is all about, so I think I’m still processing all the inputs I’ve got as a secondary school student. I’ve decided what to major in, and I’m looking forward to this brand new experience. Maybe the lectures aren’t as boring as people make them seem. Maybe I can actually become friends with professors. Maybe I would be a good student who listens carefully and takes note of the main points.

Then I paused. Come to think of it, I did hope for similar miracles to happen almost every year, and I did best in the first half of September. And then every other year I keep telling myself this year is going to be different! The goodies are going to last! Maybe for one more day.

I once wrote in my journal that after this half a year of ups and downs, I think I’d changed. I’ve seen more, learned more, and certainly given more. Now, looking back, I think it wasn’t change that was brought upon me by all those tests of life,  it was just maturity, I’m still me. My goals over the years are all the same: not just hoping the good behaviors would last, but hoping that I’ll try my best no matter what I’m dealing with. I can proudly say that I kept the promise to myself and now all the handwork is paying off.

I might not be the brightest student of my generation, but at least I am willing to try, and that quality, I believe, will take me to my ultimate happy place.

P.S. R.I.P. to those who lost their lives in the Manila tourist bus hijacking incident, and may them find their own happy place in heaven.

Samantha Chan, 19, is a fresh graduate from Marymount Secondary School. When she’s not reading or writing, Samantha is watching movies. She dreams to work for the film industry one day. Her column Bite of Life is inspired by the tiniest bits of joy, laughter, frustration and anger in her life. Samantha hopes her articles will take readers to a calm, peaceful place.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

