Skip to content

Tuesday Haul

September 28, 2010

I’m in London this week 🙂   and my plan for today was simple: head to MAC and pick up the “Venomous Villains” collection. But big disappointement, the collection doesn’t launch until Thursday!  

Since I couldn’t get the VV collection, and I had been thinking all morning about my lack of foundation (I watched ginabinawina99’s (September) monthly favourites video this morning), I decided to buy foundations instead. 

I headed to the mall to search for the perfect foundation kit for my skin. I started looking for a good concealer and got a match at the MAC counter. I bought the much coveted Soft and Gentle Mineralize Skinfinish and the Harmony Contour powder. I can justify this buy because I have hit pan with my beautiful Shu Uemura powder and I can’t find a Shu outlet here in London. I’ve  heard many good things about Harmony too so I’m expecting good results.

 

While I was at it, I also picked up two foundations (I honestly wasn’t planning to but it sort of happened). I was originally after the Chanel Pro Lumiere but the shop assistant said I’d only need light to medium coverage sooo I guess I’ll be trying the Teint Innocence in 20 Clair and the highly praised Estee Lauder Double Wear  in Desert Beige 12 ($280 HKD/1.0 oz). I also bought a foundation brush from Estee Lauder just because I saw a HUGE difference in the way that it applied to my skin. 

Tip of the day:
Invest in a good foundation brush. This is how I would rate techniques to apply foundation: 1. Foundation brush 2. Fingers 3. Sponge. I quote Blanka Zablocki, the wise makeup artist I met today at Estee Lauder: “Sponges are the least reliable. They soak up all the product, and fingers (despite the heat making the foundation easier to work with) will NOT ever spread evenly”  

I used to be skeptical about using brushes, however after showing me a demonstration with a mirror (try spreading your foundation using the three methods stated earlier yourself!) – Zablocki made me found out a couple of things:

1. Sponges really DO soak up all the product – which would mean you get less for your money. In the case of my Chanel and Estee Lauder, this would NOT be good.  

2. Brushes really help even out your foundation and can help you control application so that you can use the product economically.  

3. Fingers can help the foundation sink in better but are ultimately not as evenly spread as brushes.  

I can’t wait to review all of these products.  Stay tuned and…

Stay gorgeous
x.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. samanthac permalink
    October 1, 2010 11:55 am

    okay. I’m going to buy foundation brushes cuz I’ve been using sponges LOL

  2. October 1, 2010 10:53 am

    Cooool!

  3. Jocelyn Wong permalink
    October 1, 2010 10:49 am

    Yup. Just picked it up today. Expect updates within the next 24 hours!

  4. October 1, 2010 10:29 am

    Did you get the VV collection?

Leave a Reply

