Skip to content

Loving Life

September 30, 2010
tags:

‘It’s so good to be a part of something.’ That is what I genuinely think after a week’s incidents, with a few bumps along the road.

A new friend of mine was in the volleyball team in her previous school and as a result, I went to watch an inter-school friendly tournament with her last week. Seeing how the teams proudly strolled along the court with their jerseys on, I can’t help regretting, just a little, my lack of social life during high school. On the spectators’ stand, I couldn’t do much but to listen to others’ conversations since I don’t speak volleyball. ‘It’d be good to have a sense of belonging.’

Then I got into a cold war with my bff, AGAIN. I feel tired just typing the word. ‘It seemed like I wasn’t part of her world anymore now that she’s so in love.’

While feeling a little gloomy during a family gathering, my mom, my aunts and my cousins were happily discussing the itinerary and schedule of their upcoming trip to Korea, which started two days ago. ‘ARGH. I’m being left out again.’

(Sorry for boring journal-like entries but there will be a connection.) A few days later, I got a message from the History society of the school that I was rejected on my application for a place at the executive committee. And there, everything I’ve been imagining related to a new school year working with my teammates went poof! It’s amazing how one little message can crush your dream into a million pieces. It’s even more astonishing how it can pull you from hell to heaven in one day, because they called again the next day and said ‘you’re in.’

We had the first meeting yesterday. Even with the heavy, heavy workload, ‘life’s never been this good.’

You get the connection?

Learn more about Bite of Life

3 Comments leave one →
  1. samanthac permalink
    October 4, 2010 6:53 pm

    Yeah I couldn’t agree more on your friend’s status Jin, nobody gets out of life alive. They always say ‘life’s too short to be unhappy about it’ right? Though it’s inevitable that we will come across different emotions in life, we really should get over that ASAP!
    ROAH!

    And thanks Khris. beyond words 😉

  2. Jin Chow permalink
    October 2, 2010 2:20 pm

    Recently, on facebook, one of my friend’s personal status was: “No need to take life seriously, nobody ever gets out alive anyway.”

    I found that quite true. There really is no need to feel devastated if something goes wrong, for everybody has those days. The most important of all is that we enjoy life and that we have fun with it.

    Just try your best and be content with it 🙂

  3. Khris C. permalink
    October 1, 2010 4:47 am

    Agree, a man should find out what life is.

    Life is challenging huh?
    I found a sentence in an advertisement, it stated : “Life is beautiful, because of and in spite of its ups and downs.’

    No doubt about it!

    All the cherishing memories and/or bitter lessons contribute to life : We better work out life by experiencing it.

    Experience is a great teacher; it is the road we have been over. But the wrecks in the rear aren’t the ones we are now trying to avoid. It’s the curve ahead that counts now.

    Do your best now, account for the upcoming challenges. Be prepared.

    Heavy workload? Yes, it is. But why there is such a heavy workload? It’s telling you that you are capable! You shall overcome that! Have a great determination, everything will become easier and easier.

    Wish you luck, Samantha.

    Khris C.

    “Ambition and love are the wings to great deeds.” — Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Leave a Reply

