Skip to content

Go grab it

October 21, 2010
tags:

You know how clichés are so ‘duh. Who doesn’t know that.’ But somehow, there is always some truth to it. My cliché of the week is: treasure what you have before it’s too late.

I had my nth meeting with my fellow executive committee members of the History Society yesterday. There was (inevitably) a little bit of facebooking, youtubing and daydreaming from time to time, but things were…normal, just like our usual meetings.

Then our chairman dropped the bomb during dinner that two of us, including him, are quitting. Half of us shed tears, because of the heavy workload, because of them leaving, because of the shattered dreams of working and fighting together. Whatever reasons, we went through a round of ‘compulsory truth telling’, as labeled by our IV (Internal Vice-Chairperson). And as usual, I said, “I’m not good at this, so go home and check your email, there should be a message from me.”

I did what I do best, I wrote. (Well, typed.) This was not the only piece of shocking news I got yesterday, so I think I went numb by the time I got home and ready typing. During the whole time I was thinking, maybe we all took things for granted. We thought our Chairman would be there whenever we needed him, our Publicity lady would be there helping us out with banners, posters, promotion stuff all the time. We all thought we are going to have a whole year ahead of us working alongside each other. The idea was planted so deep in us like a belief, that when unexpected incidents hit and the whole thing came crashing down, we collapsed.

I’ve had loads of these realisations in these few years, that I should treasure what I have because things in life, including life itself, are too fragile. You don’t know when you will lose it, like what Heidi Klum always says in Project Runway, “one day you’re in, the next day you’re out.” This doesn’t only apply to the Fashion World, and though it is hard to grasp, try. It may take you 10, 20, 30 mistakes before you fully understand the meaning behind that ‘cliché’, and the excruciating guilt along the road may be unbearable, but what’s important is that after each one of them, you grow up and learn a little bit more. I’m not even half way there yet, but I’m hopeful.

More about Bite of Life

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

