Skip to content

My Beauty Must Have

October 26, 2010

Despite my expanding beauty collection, there are certain items that I keep going back to and promises of “new better formulas” or “guaranteed staple item” just won’t make me change my mind.

For your reference, my skin type corresponds to MAC’s NC25 foundations

Foundation: BRTC Gold Caviar BB Cream and Chanel Teinte Innocence (Clair/Cameo 20)
Used in conjunction with each other it gives a fabulous finish which is light and flaw-minimizing 🙂 Plus, the BB cream has properties to reduce pores and improve skin tone, so technically it’s like a skin treatment too.

Eyeshadow: MAC Quad (Patina, Club, Brule, Black Tied)
There are so many combinations you can do with this quad: a day look with Brule and Patina, a night look with Black Tied or a more smoky look with Club.

Mascara: L’Oreal Paris Double Extension Serum Inside Mascara, Covergirl Lash Blast Fusion
I like to use the serum inside the mascara to prime my lashes (used in the long run, they can also increase the length of your lashes to up to 80%!) Combined with the Covergirl Lash Blast Fusion, it creates a really dramatic look. The Last Blast Fusion I have is Brown, so it creates a really warm, dreamy look. But for an evening look, I would opt for Maybelline’s Great Lash Washable Mascara. I hate the applicator but the formulation is AMAZING. It further elongates your lashes and stays put all day.

Contour Powder: Shu Uemura M85/ MAC Harmony
The Shu Uemura is easier to use but I ran out 😦 So I opted for the MAC harmony which gives my face a great contour and heightens my cheekbones. However it must be used with caution. The first time I put it on I didn’t know the colour pay off was going to be so good so I ended up looking like I came from Jersey Shore.

Blotting Paper: Clean and Clear Oil Absorbing Sheets
I have oily skin so on hotter/more humid days (which is generally almost every day in HK), I like to take a few out with me to prevent shine. I’ve tried out numerous brands and I find that the C&C one is the best for absorbing all face oils without also smudging/wiping off my makeup

Makeup Remover: Elizabeth Arden All Gone Eye and Lip Makeup Remover
It removes everything without leaving any oily residue and ever so gently. I tried this out for the YP Beauty Battlefield this summer and I haven’t been able to live without it ever since.

I have finals coming up in two hours so I got to cram now
Wish me luck!

Stay gorgeous
x.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

