Skip to content

Night Out

October 29, 2010

Last night I went out with my friend to a Club Dinner (for those interested, it’s FLS – Fashion and Lifestyle Society) where I got to meet some fabulous fashionistas from campus. The invite stated it was a ‘black tie’ event so we of course, had to dress up!

I’m wearing a black H&M zip up dress, chunky necklace from Maple, a purple bangle from Jardine’s Bazaar, clutch from Harajuku, Tokyo and booties from Nine West.

As you can see, me and my friend (Maria) have Very different personal styles. She was wearing a strapless printed dress (reminds me a tad of Vivienne Tam) cinched with a loose skinny belt with “corky” gladiator heels – giving more of an urban chic vibe.

I wanted to keep my outift polished but not overly formal. I didn’t know anyone else going to this dinner apart from Maria, so I wanted to dress it down with a playful graphic clutch (I love ‘pops’ of colour in my outfit, just to add interest). That way, no matter what people wore, I wouldn’t be over or under dressed.

Makeup wise, I went for the Guerlain Lingerie Foundation (I like what it does to my pores whilst  being a light to medium coverage) and instead of concealer, I dabbed The Estee Lauder Double Wear underneath my eyes and on the hollows of my cheekbones (it’s a little darker than the Guerlain foundation). I also used Bobbi Brown Denim Rose Ink on my lids with MACs Club, Sable eyeshadow (a smoky eye with hints of blue), Harmony Contour Powder and a dab of Lancome La Rose Deco Blush.


All in all I think we spent an hour getting ready but it was so fun getting dressed up! Before we left Deli (short for our rez hall “Delaware Hall”) we adhered to Coco Chanel’s motto “before you leave the house, look in the mirror and take one thing off.”

And that my friends, is my advice to you whenever you get all dressed up and ready. When you’re all caught up about looking good, you may go for over kill, so take a step back (or take a snap shot before you go out) and take one thing off 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Yanna permalink
    November 2, 2010 12:08 pm

    Cool. Just one i thing i don’t like is that your bra strap shows. Personally, i think it makes it look tacky

Leave a Reply

