Skip to content

Review: MAC’s Pearlglide Intense Eyeliners

November 9, 2010

Okay, so I picked up a few goodies from MAC’s A Tartan Tale Collection about one or two weeks ago and have been using them like crazy already! Originally, I thought that the Tartan Collection was similar to the Venomous Villains Collection in that it was very “packaging” based. To be honest, the colour palettes were not especially inspiring but as the makeup addict I am, I went and browsed it anyway.

I was planning on getting the lip kit and the eye kit but after seeing the Pearlglide Intense Eyeliner kit I knew I was going to forgot the Lip (I need to budget myself, been spending waay too much recently) and get this one instead.

I choose three of the five different shades: Black Line – a black with a hint of green/golden sparkles, Lord it Up – a warm brown with golden flecks, and Undercurrent – a green teal-ish colour with golden and jade shimmer particles. I also got Black Swan only two hours ago. It’s a carbon black with grey/silver particles! THANK GOODNESS I did too.

Alright, I’ll be the first to admit I am not a regular fan of pencil eyeliner – they never stay put on my water line and smudge way easier than gel liner. However, after using the Pearlglides – I’m now hooked. They glide on so smoothly and have amazing colour pay off. After half heartedly swatching the eyeliners, I found them to last for over eight hours (on my arm at least) with NO glitter fallout (it stayed completely intact) and had really strong pigmentation.

I like to use Undercurrent as a pop of colour under a smoky eye – the playful colour ‘wakes’ up my eyes and adds depth to my makeup.

I like Lord it Up for a day to day look (I just whip it on and smudge it out) but it can easily be used for a ‘rich’ and elegant night look as well.  I will probably be using this when I attend the Deli-formal (my residence has a “vegas night” themed dance in two weeks and I am stoked) with Club on the outer corners to smoke it out. I want to keep it simple but smoky for that rich/mysterious Vegas appeal.

The Black Line I admit, was purchased by accident – I wanted to return it but the packaging got squished in my bag -__-” still I’ve found it to be a very pigmented carbon black – for people who hail a black smoky eye as their holy grail look – this will definitely make you stand out. I lent it to my friend and now she is obsessed with it. If she consents, I’ll definitely be posting pictures of her using it. It looks beautiful on her cooler skin tone.

Black Swan is one of those staple items for me – I like a dark colour with green run through. The Black Swan is a black with antique gold/green in it. Used with my Bobbi Brown gel liner in Espresso, it gives off the most enigmatic colour! I love it for a dramatic look and am looking forward to wear it on a night out!

You better pick up these liners while stocks last! Here in London, Ontario, there are approximately two more “Lord it Up” and I am for SURE going to pick another one before it runs out of stock.

Stay gorgeous!
x.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    November 11, 2010 5:40 pm

    😀 I just L-O-V-E Undercurrant!

Leave a Reply

