Skip to content

Street interview – Connie Cheung

November 9, 2010

Connie Cheung, 15, SKH Lam Kau Mow Secondary School

Spotted: in Shatin

My style is…vintage and boyish. I like items with vintage patterns. For example, stripes, floral print, polka dots. My style depends on trends. I intentionally put on military shirts to fit the trend of A/W 2010 which military style is a great hit. Vintage style is going to be one of the trends for the next few seasons. That’s why I always make oxford flats as my must item in my look.

I am…not one of those typical girlish girls. I prefer to add a few of male garments to lower the girlishness of my look. I love reading books of 60s and 70s fashion and I am greatly affected by the retro style.

I am wearing…a military shirt at HKD299, a striped cardigan at HKD99, both from H&M, a white top at HKD99, from Uniqlo, vintage denim shorts at HKD359, from Zara and brown oxfords.

The story behind…my brown oxfords. They were a gift that my best friend who travelled in London bought me. They are very precious and mean a lot to me. That’s why I love the shoes very much.

Shhh! Let me tell you a secret…never forget to take a cue from famous fashion bloggers and fashion magazines such as Vivi. Moreover, style.com can also be a reference of your look. It provides the latest news and events of the fashion industry: Milan fashion week, New York fashion week, you name it.

My favourite designer is… Yves Saint Laurent. He definitely is my forever favourite designer since his garments show the independent living style of modern chics, feminine yet edgy. I am obsessed with his design.

I would like to look like… Rumi Neely. I like her hippie chic style. She is the master of layering who is especially good at layering black items by using different kinds of textures.

I shop at… H&M where you can always find stylish but inexpensive clothes. This is an almighty store that can cater for most of your need in a season. Zara sells pants of great tailoring and designs. I usually shop there for great pants to finish off my look.

YP junior fashion correspondents’ advice:

Thumbs up for: We really admired her unique vintage style. She knows how to match vintage clothes with trendy garments to create a chic and fashionable look. We also loved the way she wore a cardigan inside a military shirt to show her talented layering skill.

Word of advice: Why not try adding a pair of short grey cotton socks? They are one of the hit items in this season (see  Marc Jacobs’s fashion show) and would suit her style just great!

Interview by YP Junior Fashion Correspondent Moly For Wing-yin

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

