Skip to content

Quick Reviews & a New Party Look

December 2, 2010

This week, I tried a completely different look because I wanted to try out the new products I purchased (I mean, if my makeup collection keeps growing, I have to keep using the stuff). Everything I’m using this time is new apart from my MAC eyeshadow base and powder blush and Shu Uemura eyeshadow. Here, I did a dramatic evening look just for fun – me and my friend were just messing about because we were tired of studying.

PRODUCTS USED:

Face:

MAC Harmony Powder Blush – HK$155

Eyes:

MAC Paint Pot eye base (I have the Bare Study shade) – HK$140

Shu Uemura eyeshadow ME Olive 471 (shimmery grey) – HK$150

Eyeshadows from the Limited Edition Bobbi Brown Beauty Rules Face Palette – the Lightening Sparkle (medium grey) and Eclipse (black) shades – HK$380 for the palette which includes eye, lip and cheek colours

MAC Fluidline’s eye gel – the Blitz and Glitz shade (black with gold pearl) part of the new Tartan Collection – HK$145

Coffret d’Or liquid gel eyeliner – HK$130

Breakdown of New Products:

I’m usually a big fan of Bobbi Brown eye shadows (though sadly I do not own too many – they come expensive), but I am disappointed to say that the shadows in the “Beauty Rules” palatte are quite chalky and sheer – with the glitter eyeshadows, there is a fair bit of fall out too – generally, I am not impressed by the eyeshadow selections here. I felt like I could not just use the eyeshadows in the box to do the look: either they would not stay on or just did not blend very well hence I tried to compensate with the Gel eyeliner, and shadow (Personally, I think that no one does glitter eyeshadows/ metallic’s better than Shu Uemura).

MAC Blitz and Glitz Fluidline was a little disappointing to me – when I swatched it in the store, it looked like there had some gold reflects inside but upon application, you couldn’t really tell that it was anything but a mediocre black gel liner.

The Coffret D’Or eyeliner is probably going to be a product I will repurchase over and over again. I LOVE the multicoloured shimmer particles (the predominant ones being the purple and silver with some green tones). It stayed put for 6 hours (I almost forgot to take off my makeup before I went to bed) without any fall out and looked as great as when I just applied it after 6 hours.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

