Skip to content

Brain Game 2.12.2010

December 2, 2010

the brain game

This week’s question:

“How would you stay warm this winter?”

Alice Leung, 16, Ho Fung College

Although it’s very cold outdoors during winter, I do not plan to stay home and bury myself in blankets. Why not share our happiness with others during this festive season? Give free hugs in the streets will make others feel better, and this is especially meaningful at this time of the year. It’s a great way to brighten up lives of strangers. During summer, we set up stands to sell cool, refreshing drinks. So for winter, I’ll set up a hot chocolate stand. The sweet, heart-warming beverage is perfect for the cold weather. So I’ll spend the winter bringing joy to the lives of others, and in the process, I’ll fee warm and happy.

Balwinder Singh, 15, Delia Memorial School (Hip Wo)

By taking part in a lot of activities! I’ll play sports, such as basketball and tennis, with my friends. It’s also good to take a walk in the chilly weather to relax my muscles. I am thinking about taking a stroll with my friends, say from Causeway Bay to Admiralty of from Mong Kok to Jordan. I hope to do activities which consume a lot of energy. This can help me to stay warm and spend more time with my friends. At the end of a tiring day, it’s best to stay at home, snuggled under a lot of blankets, and drink some hot chocolate with my family. Maybe I’ll watch some movies with them. After all, nothing warms the heart more than being with your loved ones.

Votes close on Tuesdays at noon.

Cool Text: Logo and Graphics Generator

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Logically... permalink
    December 6, 2010 8:04 pm

    I like Balwinder’s idea! It focuses more on people you know, as in friends and family which really should inspire Hong Kong citizens because it’s rare to see teens do something outside of activities involving being indoors such as going to karaoke or computer centers/ arcades, particularly in winter period. Even though Alice’s idea of giving free hugs and setting up a beverage stand is great, I try to imagine if it’s possible. Normally Hong Kong people don’t really react well with strangers and if seeing a person holding up a sign stating ‘free hugs’, will they really go up to that person and get a hug? That would work successfully in western countries but for eastern ones, most if not all are conservative… I also consider with if you are not close with your family, but you are willing to do something for a complete stranger, I find it odd… Why do something for people you don’t know when you can’t do something for the people you DO know? This is just my input, I don’t mean to offend anyone, I’m just saying what I’m thinking…

    • NBA permalink
      December 11, 2010 5:26 pm

      I will say that I do agree with what you have said on the part of giving a hug. Moreover, I like Balwinder’s one rather than Alice since spending time with family is better than foolin’ around on the streets.

  2. Wow permalink
    December 3, 2010 6:16 pm

    I usually just read how the competitors answer the questions–>vote —> go…
    But this time, I think I should leave a comment. Balwinder’s idea is great, but I like Alice’s idea more…I like the idea of giving free hugs…it’s so warm, not only on the outside but also inside:)
    Balwinder’s idea is not bad though, physical activities:) I like it:)

Leave a Reply

