Skip to content

A unique year-end reflection or yours?

December 17, 2010

I was flipping through my Journal (I capitalise it because I like to think it’s important, and it is) the other day, when I came across one of those post-film-watching-emotions-that-make-me-want-to-write entries. I wrote, “there’s a sudden thought to make a wish for myself. I mean, if I can get one wish out of the effort I’d made in the past two years, I hope my passion for writing never goes away, and that I will love this hobby of mine for as long as I can put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard).” I smiled while reading it, because I still feel the same way about this little hobby of mine, and the grin broke wider when I realise that by engaging in all these self-discovering activities, I had found my old self again. The bookworm and writing nerd Sam.

It was Letters to Juliet that reminded me exactly how much I really love to write, to create something which purely belongs to me from fresh sheets of pure white, sprinkles of imagination and a pinch of inspiration. I once quoted from Charlaine Harris, one of my favorite writers, and that is something someone like me will never forget for the rest of my life.

Reminiscing the good old times also opened up memory drawers that I’ve shoved in the back of my mind, for the sake of making space for the new life and new scenes ahead. I remembered how I would bring the nth book of the Southern Vampire Mysteries down to the canteen back in secondary school, reading while eating, listening to my inner group’s conversations and even while walking. I would most probably have fallen off the staircase if it weren’t for my bff. I remembered how I would sometimes daydream during lessons, and scribble down whatever I had in mind that has the potential of turning into one of my Journal entries or blog posts. To me, these are those things that defined who I was as a person. And I’m glad they still do, and probably will continue to for the rest of my life.

Do you have some beautiful memories that you think is important but have left it in some deserted areas in your mind for a while now? It might be a good idea to pay those fellas a visit, surprises can be right around the corner! (It’s Christmas after all!)

More about Bite of Life

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

