Skip to content

Brain Game 3.3.2011

March 4, 2011

the brain game

This week’s question:

“How do you stay awake after lunch?”

Ellis Lee, 15, Delia Memorial School (Broadway)

Every time I feel like falling asleep in class, I annoy others. For example, I tap my classmate sitting next to me, and then talk about things like the true meaning of life and a cure for cancer. Sometimes I raise my hand up and say “hi” to the teacher. I like to see their expression – they seem to be surprised, amused and annoyed, all at the same time. Doing such things keeps me entertained – and awake – during class.

Sophie Cheung, 14, German Swiss International School

It is very hard to stay alert after lunch. I used to pinch myself really hard to keep awake, but I don’t recommend it! I recently discovered the most effective method is probably one of the easiest. Have a good lunch and you’ll feel refreshed. If you still fall asleep during lessons, why not have a small dessert, such as an ice cream or a popsicle, in addition to a substantial lunch? The sugar will definitely prevent you from dozing off in class.

William Cheng, 16, TWGHs Wong Fut Nam College

Staying awake after lunch is a “mission impossible” for many students. I take deep breaths, increasing the oxygen content in the blood, which helps me to stay awake. If I still feel sleepy I ask my classmates to chat with me for a while. But the most effective method is answering teacher’s questions and doing the exercises. Why? Because you need to think and there is no time for you to doze off.

Christine Gabrielle Bacus Nietes, 16, Delia Memorial School (Hip Wo)

I try to be active so that I don’t nod off in class. During lunch, I try to keep up my energy levels by doing a lot of activities with my friends. If I still feel sleepy after lunch, I write or drum my fingers on the desk. Moving a part of my body helps me to keep my mind fresh, stay alert and pay attention in class.

Crystal Leung, 16, Scared Heart Canossian College

Chewing gum is probably the answer, but it doesn’t work for me because I wear braces. I do not like coffee or Red Bull either because I smell like a 40-yearold man after drinking them. To me, laughter is the best medicine. Share jokes with your friends, but remember not to laugh too loudly. You may be kicked out of the classroom and that will be the biggest joke.

Votes close on Tuesdays at noon.

Cool Text: Logo and Graphics Generator

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 10:10 pm

    In the months of all that i experienced in trying to obtain qualification in trying to stay awake (in lecture lessons), I finally beat the two tons of metal on my eyes (which keeps me harder to stay awake). The method i do to struggle in awake after lunch is to yawn out loud.
    this not only helps me get my mind refresh, it also gives me the excitment. feeling ecited make me not to sleep!! even in extreme conditions!try doing the same way aha!

Leave a Reply

